In 2022 seventh annual FIFA The Best Awards ceremony took place. These awards aim to honor the best players, managers, and fans around the globe to acknowledge their contributions to the game.

On February 27, 2023, the award ceremony was held in Paris. The award categories included the top male and female players and the best male and female goalkeepers. Moreover, another award was given to the best goal scorer of the calendar year, the “Puskas Trophy.”

How did the FIFA Best Awards come about?

Since 2016, FIFA has partnered with France Football to hand out the Ballon d’Or collectively. But the partnership ended in 2016. As a result, FIFA launched the Best Awards in 2017.

The Ballon d’Or is the biggest and most prestigious award in football. The award started in 1956, and to date, every footballer’s dream is to win this award. Lionel Messi holds the world record for the most Ballon d’Or awards.

The FIFA Best Male Player Award

This is the most anticipated honor. Every footballer on the planet dreams of winning this award. The best footballer gets this award. Most of the time, attackers win this award, but there was an exception in 2018 when Luka Modric won this award.

Lionel Messi won the award in 2022, with Kylian Mbappe and Karim Benzema finishing in the top three.

Cristiano Ronaldo has two FIFA Best Awards: one won in 2016 and the second in 2017. Lionel Messi won the first one in 2019 and the second award in 2022.

FIFA Best Goalkeeper Award:

When FIFA Best started back in 2016, the best goalkeeper award was not given that year; the best goalkeeper award began in 2017.

In 2017, Italian legend Gianluigi Buffon won this award. The winner of this award in 2018 was the Belgian goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois, and Emiliano Martinez, from Argentina, won the 2022 award.

FIFA Best Coach Award:

This award is given to the team’s coach. The best manager is awarded who pushes the team’s potential to the next level.

During the first year, the award was given to Claudio Ranieri, from Italy. In 2022, the top three nominees for this award were Carlo Ancelotti, Pep Guardiola, and Lionel Scaloni. The Argentinean manager won this year’s “best coach” award.

Only one manager has won two awards consecutively: Jurgen Klopp from Germany.

FIFA’s Best Female Player Award

If Alexia Putellas does not come to mind when you hear the phrase “best women’s award,” you do not watch the sports and understand it.

Carli Llyod from the United States of America won the first women’s award. Alexia Putellas won the most recent award, her second consecutive award. Moreover, she also has two Ballon d’Or awards.

FIFA Award for Best Female Goalkeeper

This particular category was left off the list in the first few years of the awards. This was added in 2019 and that’s just four years ago.

Mary Earps from England won the 2022 award and plays for Manchester United.

Puskas Award: The Best Goal of the Year Award

The Puskas Award goes to the player who scores the best goal of the year, no matter what gender they are. The Puskas Award started in 2009.

Each year, FIFA management goes through different goals that were scored in the prior year, and the best one is selected for this award.

The name of this award is named after a Hungarian footballer, “Ferenc Puskas.”

The winner of the 2022 award is Marcin Olekasy, who is from the Warta Poznan team and scored this goal against Stal Rzeszow.



I am writer at Lad Football, writes content which is authentic and pure.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button